Bombay Christian Fellowship – Blogs

Blogs and Articles from The Body of Believers at Bombay Christian Fellowship seeking to be a pure testimony for Jesus in their respective roles that God has called them to live out.

You’ve Got Message, Obey God! (Poem) – by Ruby Nathan

Jeremiah 7:23 – Obey My voice, and I will be your God, and you will be My people; and you will walk in all the way which I command you, that it may be well with you.

Obey My voice, and I will be your God, and you will be My people – Jeremiah 7:23a

Down through the ages
Messengers relayed messages
How man from self should turn
How he should every sin shun
How man shouldn’t disobey
From God’s Word not stray

Ah! That message I do know
Brayed the donkey loudly so
How the angel blocked my path
How gripped with fear was my heart
How God made me sound human
Greedy Balaam to refuse a villain

Oh! That message we’ve heard
Bellowed the Amalek oxen herd
How they retained the super best
How they slew the weakling rest
How their lusts were satisfied
Yet obedience is better than sacrifice

Yeah! That message is still afresh
Whistled the whale from Tarshish
How the boatmen cast the lot
How they feared the storming plot
How I gulped him who disobeyed
Scorched again in the fiery ray

Why! That message ain’t new
Crowed the rooster in all its hue
How the disciple hid and lied
How blatantly he thrice denied
How crowed I before Savior’s eye
Disciple shied and bitterly cried

Dear friends and dear readers
Learn what meant these messengers
How sinful is partial, delayed obedience
How akin it is to disobedience
How pleased God’s with the timely ‘doing’
Rather than a mere ‘listening’ or ‘saying’

Now you’ve got a message fine
Do God’s will, do it in His time
How you mustn’t say ‘Not now…later…’
How you mustn’t say ‘Tomorrow…the better…’
How not to delay or drag any further
Else will hear donkey, whale or rooster

Fresh yet is the message of the Cross
Calls you, Christ, the Lamb of God
How He died on Calvary
How He arose victoriously
How Christ equips you graciously
So you can follow Him obediently

Obey2

About Ruby Pearl Nathan

Happily married with an extremely caring husband, son, and family members. Instructional Design or Content Development is what I do.

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2015 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , .